top of page

Art Block in an Artist’s Perspective

Blog by Mel Perez

Artwork by Anna Carlos



Art Block may be the worst thing that could happen to creative people. Especially if you’re a professional, this could be a frustrating and worse case scenario - it could affect your career.


Art blocks vary from different people. As a student, I didn’t think that I would experience art block. I was just starting in the whole idea of being an artist where I was in a phase of what I would like to call the "Baby Artist." This is where you always have motivation to draw. I was so enthusiastic in making my own art that I just want to keep going. I don’t wanna stop, I love my art and I want to keep on creating everyday. But then as I grow older I realize how exhausting and draining it is.



Art block "blocking the way"


And then it happened, the art block took away my motivation to draw or do anything related to art. It’s like something part of you was taken away. The fire that burns your passion is slowly dimming out. The art block that I always experience are more of emotional and mental barriers.


I get all excited to do my work but as I open my laptop, I just don’t know where to start. I get so overwhelmed with all the things I want to do that I don’t know how to start them. Most of the time I overthink too much. I want things to be perfect that I’m not satisfied with my work. I want to do something unique and out of this world that results in my inner critic taking over. I’ll start to think that my work is not enough, boring or not that original. Then that goes on in circles until I get frustrated and do nothing. I find fault in what I do that it stops me from creating them.


I also experience being afraid to draw or create art. I start to think of what people will say and have that fear that they won’t like it. I start to doubt myself that I’m not good enough. I get jealous of other people’s achievement that it stops me from doing my thing. I mean, I’m not as great as them so why bother trying, right? I’m never going to make great art like them. I feel bad and then start to procrastinate until I’m not making anything anymore. These were the thoughts that would ruin my creativity.





Unblock art block


Society’s pressure and your inner pressure will really push you to the edge of having an art block, and in that time, I knew that I had to take a break. I realized that the more I push myself to work during those times, the more I’ll struggle to get back on track. So, in order to fight art block, I make sure to give myself time to rest.


What I would do is accept the situation I am in. Accept that I’m experiencing art block and try not to panic or get more frustrated. I breathe for a while and do nothing, just be able to have a peaceful time for myself. After that I do other things that I love to take my mind off of thinking too much - I watch my favorite YouTube video, talk to my friends or eat my favorite bread-banana-syrup combo. These little things in life will surely distract yourself from all the negative thoughts.


The next thing I will do is to make sure I remind myself why I love art in the first place and why I’m doing it. I remind myself of the journey that I‘ve been through and how much I have grown. That it’s okay to make mistakes because it means you are learning. Looking back at these things helps me to regain my motivation back. And then, I try again but this time, with more kindness and love to myself and what I do. I take it easy but I make sure to get working.


Feeling frustrated, down or just doesn’t have the motivation to draw are all normal things. Art block is normal and it is part of our growth as an artist. It is part of the creative process and it happens to all of us. We may feel stuck for days, weeks or even months but just try to remember that we are not going to be stuck forever. Everything takes its time and we may even have to experience multiple art blocks before having a breakthrough.


Looking back at my situation, I can say that I’m still in the phase where I find myself as an artist. I still have a lot to learn and a lot more art blocks in the way but I know I’ll get through it because it's part of my learning. Heck, I still don’t know what I’m doing but I know I’ll have my breakthrough soon.


It’s okay to pause but make sure to not let art block stop you. Keep going and keep creating.





0 comments
The Crammed Thoughts.png
bottom of page